Releasing the quiet writer within #writersblock2014

Last week I did something brave, I crept out of my so-called comfort zone and attended a writer’s workshop. I’ve registered for one before, in May or June this year, but due to baby Gabriel still being in ICU I decided to make the next one. I promised myself that I would. I needed to keep this promise to myself, not only because I desperately needed to get out of the house, but because I needed to be kind to myself- and follow through on a commitment to myself.

Anyway, so I did it. Hubby dropped me in town so I wouldn’t have an issue with parking; and after getting lost for a bit, I made my way to Aniyo Bakery where Ashleigh Davids was on the microphone welcoming everyone. The butterflies in my stomach rose to the occasion. It was the first time I was surrounded by like-minded people, my people. I sat next to a young gentleman, Ricardo- I could sense he was wet behind the ears. The inexperience twinkled in his eyes and nerves dripped from his forehead. I knew I wanted to befriend him. He seemed different, nervous, not knowing what to expect. Immediately we clicked- in that moment of connecting eyes to greet, I summed him up- he’d be my writer buddy for the day.

Natalie Rae Denton started us off with a writing exercise where we had to come up with 5 abstract nouns and 5 places. We partnered up and I got to work with my writing buddy. We swapped nouns with places and was asked to write a poem on one pairing that evoked a sense of emotion. Mmmmm. I hadn’t written anything that wasn’t influenced by the bipolar so this was a very interesting exercise for me. Now that I am well, I’ve been yearning to write poetry, but I was always afraid that a spark of creativity could trigger an episode.

A combination of two words stood out for me and in minutes the words rushed out. I was asked if I wanted to recite my poem; with the little poet inside jumping up and down- I held the mic- my body nervous, my soul elated. I’d always been afraid of giving my words a voice, and I felt safe that day- giving a part of me off to the ears of the audience. They were my people after all.

Here’s what I managed to write:

“Muizenburg Loneliness”

Seaside villas harbour Isolation Desperation and Loss of sensation To the wind To the beauty To the homeless begging for Mercy.

Winds howl; Seagulls cry For the lonely woman inside.

There. Anyone who lives in Cape Town knows that Muizenburg, knows it’s far away from everything. 🙂

I decided to blog about the speakers that followed in a separate blogpost, they deal with different topics, and by including them in this post, I may water down the potency of their powerful messages.

For now, I’m excited to pour out some more. I just hope to find an audience that enjoys it.

@yvette_adams
#activistatheart
#bipolarinnature
Mrs Hess

4 thoughts on “Releasing the quiet writer within #writersblock2014

  1. dyane says:

    Wow! How wonderful that you did this workshop! I think it took a lot of bravery to jump in the way you did. This is a beautiful post. Apart from your poem, I especially loved this:

    ” I was asked if I wanted to recite my poem; with the little poet inside jumping up and down- I held the mic- my body nervous, my soul elated. I’d always been afraid of giving my words a voice, and I felt safe that day- giving a part of me off to the ears of the audience. They were my people after all.”

    Looking forward to reading about the other speakers!

    take care,
    xoxo Dy :))

    Like

    • Yve's Corner says:

      I saw a homeless guy sitting and reading a newspaper; whilst we were stuck in traffic. we were heading for our busy lives, and he, in that moment, content, reading about the world he is not part of, decaffeinated and still. I really want to write something about that moment, but i’m not sure where to find the words to describe how i felt. Ulgh, I should have done a BA! Share the song when you get a breather.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Soapmouth says:

        🙂 I don’t think doing a BA has anything to do with finding the words, since I’ve read some of your stuff and I don’t think you need anything in addition to what you already have. hehe, I’ll send you the lyrics to the song I wrote. Maybe it will motivate you further 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Come on, talk to me- what did you think?

