Poem: What is it about you African man?

What is it about you African man?

 

I wish I could understand why

You intrigue me so.

Why-

You lead me close.

Is it in those arms?

Those arms that carry this whole nation-

Still growing.

Is it in those eyes?

Those eyes that see us through the pain-

Still bleeding.

Is it in your skin?

That skin that envelopes our hearts-

Still beating.

 

I want to understand, African man.

Why do you leave me, seeking

Only for you?

 

Is it the warmth of your voice?

That speaks for us all.

Still silent.

Is it the comfort of your embrace?

That empowers us all.

Still hurting.

We are in pain, African man.

Stand proud, speak loud but speak truth.

Teach pride, build nations but build sensibly brother,

For our clan.

 

I’m your African woman.

I cannot teach on my own-

The children we bear.

I cannot console on my own-

The children we hurt.

I cannot build on my own-

The nation we seek.

 

Our relations extend beyond

Love-

Beyond romance.

My yearning lies in hoping,

Praying-

For our Africa, African man.

 

 

 

One thought on “Poem: What is it about you African man?

Come on, talk to me- what did you think?

