Poem: I conquer

I feel the pain in these veins,

My body drains

And I am weak.

Every day it eats at me

But this disease won’t stop me.

And I conquer, every minute of everyday,

I conquer.

In the wake of the morning I breathe heavy,

The people say this isn’t going to be easy

I smile and love

And I conquer, every minute of everyday,

I conquer.

No space for crippling sadness.

I cannot survive this journey faithless

Much less

Without time to confess

That I conquer, every minute of everyday,

Of  every hour.

I conquer.

Come on, talk to me- what did you think?

